If you drive a car in Mississippi, you need to carry the right insurance. State law requires all motorists to carry certain amounts of liability coverage, which pays for victims’ damages in the event of a collision.
Failure to carry car insurance in Mississippi can result in penalties like fines and license suspensions. If you are injured in a Mississippi car accident, you could pursue a claim under the at-fault driver’s insurance, or a lawsuit against him or her in civil court.
Minimum Insurance Requirements for Mississippi Drivers
Under Mississippi law, a driver may be financially liable if he or she causes an accident. To uphold this responsibility, the state requires that all drivers hold the following minimum amounts of car insurance.
- $25,000 for bodily injury or death of one person per accident caused by the owner or driver of the insured vehicle
- $50,000 for total bodily injury or death in an accident caused by the owner or driver of the insured vehicle
- $25,000 for property damage in an accident caused by the owner or driver of the insured vehicle
The above policy limits are minimum requirements. Drivers can purchase more insurance if they choose. When filing a claim against the driver’s insurance, victims can only recover compensation up to the driver’s policy limits.
To demonstrate financial responsibility, Mississippi vehicle owners may also meet these requirements by posting a bond in the same minimum amounts. Drivers may also make an equivalent cash or security deposit.
Legal Options After a Car Accident in Mississippi
If you are injured in a Mississippi car accident and believe that someone else is responsible, you may be eligible for financial compensation. There are three main pathways to recovery after a collision.
- You can file a claim against the at-fault driver’s liability coverage.
- You can file a claim under your own insurance, as long as you have the appropriate coverage like uninsured/underinsured motorist insurance.
- You can file a personal injury lawsuit against the driver in Mississippi civil court.
Liability insurance pays for the medical bills, property damage, lost wages, and any other losses that the victims of an accident may incur. This coverage kicks in whenever the policyholder or one of his or her family members is behind the wheel, or if the policyholder gives permission to another person to drive the car.
Most car accident claims in Mississippi begin as liability insurance claims. If the insurance claim is unsuccessful or if the driver’s policy limits are insufficient, you could escalate your claim to a lawsuit in civil court. In these situations, it is important to consult with an attorney to determine the best option for you.
Speak to a Mississippi Car Accident Lawyer After Your Accident
If you are injured in a car accident, you could face significant hardships. In these situations, you may be eligible for financial compensation through an insurance claim or lawsuit. A Gulfport car accident lawyer can represent your case and help you secure the settlement that you deserve.
As soon as possible following your accident, seek emergency medical attention and save all evidence related to the collision. Once you gather this evidence, contact a Mississippi car accident lawyer to discuss your accident and identify your optimal path to recovery.