Worker’s compensation has a long history, and the need to advocate for workers’ rights stems from the bad treatment by many employers. This can range from a poor working environment and unsafe facilities to a lack of proper working gear and a lack of proper safety checks. Sadly, many employers put the lives of their workers in grave danger each day. Workers’ compensation attorneys offer services that fight for the rights of each worker who needs recourse.
Why Hire a Workers’ Compensation Lawyer?
A workers’ compensation attorney understands workplace accidents; they can help you appeal an unfortunate workers’ compensation claim that was denied or help you submit one in the first place to increase your chances of receiving the compensation and justice you deserve.
It’s always wise to have a professional on your side. Even though you are covered by workers’ compensation through your workplace, actually receiving the benefits you are entitled to can be difficult. Insurance companies want to pay out as little money as possible, so they will often deny claims for obscure reasons or small errors. When this happens, many people give up and stop trying, which is what the companies count on. A skilled personal injury attorney will continue to work for you despite any bumps in the road.
Additionally, your lawyer will handle the majority of the paperwork for you, speak with representatives and insurance companies, and walk you through the process from start to finish. You will be able to focus on healing from your injuries while your lawyer ensures that you receive the appropriate compensation.
Who Is Covered By Workers’ Compensation?
In Mississippi, almost every employee in the state is covered by workers’ compensation insurance. Employers that have fewer than 5 workers are not required to offer workers’ compensation insurance. Additionally, there is no requirement of workers’ compensation insurance for independent contractors, domestic helpers (babysitters, housekeepers, etc), farm laborers, and employees of non-profit or religious organizations. Federal employees are also not covered by workers’ compensation insurance.
When Can I File a Worker’s Compensation Claim?
Injury at a workplace must be reported to the employer within 30 days. After you report the injury to your employer, they are required to contact the insurance company. In addition, there is a statute of limitations of two years. This means a claim must be filed and you receive payment or challenge a denial of benefits within two years from the date you were injured. If you fail to notify your employer of your injury within 30 days, you will likely be denied workers’ compensation benefits.
After notifying your employer, it’s important to follow up and check on the status of the claim to ensure you receive the benefits you’re entitled to.
If you were injured at work, you are typically entitled to the following benefits through workers’ compensation insurance:
Disability payments, partial and total
Vocational training if needed
You Can Choose Your Own Doctor
In many states, you must visit a doctor approved by the workers’ compensation insurance company following a workplace injury. In Mississippi, this is not the case. You can receive care from whichever doctor you choose. Once you visit that initial doctor, they can provide future referrals without approval from the insurance company. If you visit a different doctor and get a referral from them, it must be approved by the workers’ compensation insurance company.
If you have been injured and work and need help with anything related to a workers’ comp claim, contact us today for a free consultation.