Being injured in any type of accident can be scary and life-altering. When the accident occurs because of someone else’s negligence, it can add a layer of anger and frustration to an already difficult situation. While money won’t solve all your problems, if someone else’s negligent actions caused your injuries, you deserve to be compensated. If you find yourself in this situation, contact an experienced personal injury lawyer right away to discuss your options.
At Haug, Farrar, & Franco PLLC, our Gulf Coast personal injury lawyers can help. We have dedicated our practice to representing seriously injured people throughout the Gulf Coast and never charge an upfront fee for our services. Call today for a free and confidential case evaluation.
You Can Recover Compensation Even If You’re Partially at Fault
In most cases, compensation in personal injury cases comes through an insurance policy of an at-fault party. However, many people involved in accidents assume that they can’t file a lawsuit or recover monetary compensation if they’re at all responsible for the accident. Fortunately, this is not the case in Mississippi. If you are seriously injured and believe someone else is mostly or even partially responsible, you can still file a personal injury claim and recover significant damages.
Mississippi is governed by pure comparative negligence. This means that if your case goes to trial, a percentage of fault for the accident and your injuries will be assigned to you, and a percentage of fault will be assigned to the defendant(s). Your monetary award will be reduced by the percentage that you are found to be responsible. For example, if you are awarded $100,000 and it is determined that you were 20 percent responsible, you will still take home $80,000.
Negotiation vs. Trial
The majority of personal injury cases end in a settlement, meaning the outcome is determined without ever having a trial. The plaintiff and defendant often come to an agreement regarding how much compensation the plaintiff should receive. When a case ends in negotiations, it is almost always less stressful, less time-consuming, and less expensive for everyone involved.
File Your Claim on Time
Arguably the most crucial piece of a personal injury claim is to make sure you file it by the deadline, known as the statute of limitations. In Mississippi, you must file a personal injury lawsuit within 3 years from the date of the incident. If you fail to do this, you will lose out on the chance to recover any compensation, regardless of what you otherwise would have been entitled to.
You might assume that there’s no rush because 3 years is a long time, but the sooner you file your claim, the better. As time passes, evidence can become unavailable, such as video footage of the incident that was erased, and witnesses to the incident who you can no longer find or who can’t recall the event.
Cost of a Personal Injury Lawyer
Many people hesitate to file personal injury cases because they’re worried about the cost associated, which is completely understandable. This fear can be alleviated by using an attorney or a firm that works on a contingency fee basis, which includes almost all personal injury lawyers. With this fee arrangement, you won’t pay anything to the lawyer unless they win or settle your case. If they are successful, you will pay them a percentage of your monetary award, typically between 30 and 40 percent. While this may sound like a lot, it’s important to remember that there is no financial risk to you upfront. Your lawyer could spend significant time and money on your case, and if they aren’t successful, they don’t get paid at all. This arrangement allows everyone to have access to competent legal representation.
If you have any questions about personal injury law or need assistance initiating a claim, contact us today for a free consultation.