Motorcycle helmets required in Mississippi: By law, all riders and passengers on motorcycles and motor scooters must wear a helmet meeting federal safety standards (NHTSA 218).
Riding a motorcycle can be a lot of fun, but it’s important to know the laws in your state. In Mississippi, there are a few things that you need to know before hitting the open road. If you’re thinking about taking a trip on your bike down to Mississippi, make sure you read this article first.
You Must Be Licensed to Ride a Motorcycle in Mississippi
In order to operate a motorcycle in Mississippi, you must have a valid driver’s license. If you are from out of state, you can use your home state’s license as long as it is valid. You will also need to have a motorcycle endorsement on your standard driver’s license.
To get this endorsement, you must take and pass a written test and a skills test. The written test will cover the material in the Mississippi Motorcycle Operator Manual. The skills test will assess your ability to ride a motorcycle safely.
You Must Have the Proper Equipment
All motorcycles must be equipped with certain items in order for you to operate legally in Mississippi. These items include:
- A horn that can be heard from at least 200 feet away
- At least one headlight and taillight that are both operational
- One or more rearview mirrors
- Brakes that are in good working condition
You Must Wear a Helmet When Riding a Motorcycle in Mississippi
All bikers must wear a helmet when operating a motorcycle. There are no exceptions to this rule. If you are stopped by a police officer and you are not wearing a helmet, you will be issued a ticket.
You Must Follow All Motorcycle Safety Guidelines
In addition to wearing a helmet, there are other safety guidelines that you must follow when riding a motorcycle. These include:
- Riding in the proper lane
- Obeying all traffic signals and signs
- Yielding the right-of-way when appropriate
- Never driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol
You Must Be At Least 16 Years Old to Ride a Motorcycle in Mississippi
In order to get a motorcycle license in Mississippi, you must be at least 16 years old. If you are under the age of 18, you will need to have your parent or guardian sign a consent form. If you are caught riding without a license, you will be subject to a fine.
Passengers on Motorcycles Must Wear Helmets
All passengers on motorcycles must wear helmets at all times as well. There is no exception to this rule, so make sure that your passenger has a helmet before getting on the bike.
Penalties for Breaking Motorcycle Safety Laws
If you are caught violating any of the motorcycle safety laws, you will be subject to a fine. The amount of the fine will vary depending upon the seriousness of the offense.
For example, if you are caught riding without a helmet, you will be fined a nominal fee by the court. If you are caught driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol, you will be fined up to $1,000 and your license will be suspended for 90 days, and charged with a criminal offense as well.
As you can see, there are a variety of laws that apply to motorcycle riders in Mississippi. It’s important to be familiar with these laws before getting on your bike and hitting the road. If you’ve been injured in a recent motorcycle accident, make sure to contact a Gulfport motorcycle accident lawyer today in order to learn more about how they can represent you.